Texas Traffic Tickets

Getting a traffic ticket is a frustrating experience.  There is the anxiety of being pulled over, speaking with the official and having to deal with traffic court and fines.  Traffic tickets affect our driving status, our insurance rates and our pocket book.  Plus, there is the time that we need to take to handle the situation.

In Texas, drivers are tracked through a Texas point limits.  This means, with too many tickets you could be pushed over the allowed limit and your driving privileges revoked.

Being Pulled Over

No one likes looking in their rearview mirror to see flashing red lights and hear the sirens howling.  If you are unfortunate to be in this situation then you must be sure to handle the situation properly.  When you are being pulled over you must:

  • Immediate slow your vehicle down, put the blinker on to begin pulling over to the side of the road and pull off onto the shoulder of the road as soon as it is safe
  • Relax, take a deep breath and remain calm, it is ordinary to be anxious when you are being pulled over
  • Stay in your vehicle unless the officer or trooper instructs you differently.
  • Follow the instructions of the Public Safety Officer or the Texas State Trooper
  • Do not make sudden moves.  Move calmly and always keep your hands visible.  Quick moves may appear to be a threat to the official.
  • Be friendly and polite.
  • Once the official has issued you a ticket, sign the ticket.  Signing the ticket is merely an acknowledgement that you have been pulled over and cited, it is not an admission of guilt.  And, should you refuse to sign the ticket the officer has the right to arrest you
Once the ticket has been issued, you will have 10 days to either pay the fine or to appear in court.  If you decide to appear in court then it is your responsibility to contact the court and tell them that you are planning on appealing the ticket.

Once you appear in court, you may be given the option of attending a defensive driving safety class which will dismiss the ticket from your driving record.  If you happen to have been pulled over for going above 95 mpg and found guilty of the char, you will be out of luck and will have to pay the traffic fine.

If you are in the position where you have received a serious violation or multiple violations that are pushing you over the Texas point limits, then it is high recommended to contact an attorney that specializes in traffic cases.

For more information on the Texas point system visit 4dmv.com’s Point System Section.

Surchargeable Violations

In Texas there is what is called a Driver Responsibility Program which is basically directed to those that receive frequent moving violations.  For those that do fall under this category, they are charged a series of annual fines which are called surcharges.

The type of violations that are considered surcharge able violations are those that are typically more serious than the moving violations and could result in a serious threat such as:

  • a DWI
  • driving without a license
  • driving without insurance
When charged with a surchargeable violation you will be responsible for paying an additional fine each year for several years.  The penalties can be hefty going up to as much as $2000 each year.  If you are in a position where you find yourself one of the Texas motorists that is paying high fines annually, you may wish to speak with a lawyer who specializes in traffic cases.  The state will penalize all surchargable violations for three years, thus your penalties could be up to $6,000.  This is in addition to the fines you have already paid.

Habitual Violator

Texas point system allows six points per year.  Once you have accumulated the limited amount of points, you will have your driving privileges revoked.

If you are a motorist that receives or goes beyond the six point limit, then you will also be responsible for the Driver Responsibility Program surcharge.  Simply put, even though your driver’s license has been suspended you will still be responsible for high annual surcharges even though you are not allowed to drive.